To the therapy room!

So, I felt like I was about to blow up, or deflate… either one would have been disastrous. I felt myself cracking… for no reason in particular.

So I took all my confused emotions and a hurting heart into the therapy room… my kitchen… and I decided to give myself a challenge… Lasagna, from scratch. No machines, no help, just me and my ingredients. And it turned out lovely. It’s probably something I will never eat at a restaurant.. because everything was my own… I’m going to jot down my recipe before I forget.
Lasgna Pasta Sheets.

1/2 kg all purpose flour
5 eggs
salt to taste
EVOO

Mix together to form a dough. Cut into smaller pieces and roll into 1/16″ thin / see through sheets.

Drop sheets into boiling water (with evoo and salt) for 3-4 mins and then remove into ice cold water. Strain once cool. Make sure they dont stick to each other (use oil)

Bechamel Sauce

equal measure of butter and all purpose flour.
(use about 8 tbsp each)
4 cups milk
Nutmeg powder
salt / pepper to taste

in a pot, add milk, salt, pepper and nutmeg – heat until it reaches a soft boil..
in another pot, on a low flame, melt butter – add flour and whisk together
pour in the boiling milk and whisk the butter -flour mixture vigorously to avoid formation of lumps.
heat until desired consistency.

Bolognese sauce

1/2 kg keema
5 cups tomato puree
1 carrot
1 celery stick
1 small onion
2-3 cloves garlic
rosemary
basil
bay leaf
parsley
thyme
sage
EVOO
salt and pepper and some nutmeg

chop veggies really fine.
In a pot, add evoo, sautee veggies, add minced meat and cook until meat it browned.
Add tomato puree and 2 cups of water. Add rest of the seasoning as per taste… approx 1/2 tsp thyme and nutmeg and use 1 tsp of the rest.. adjust as needed.
cook uncovered for 1/2 hr
cook covered for another 1 hr

Layer in a dish
1st layer: bolognese and bechamel – then pasta
middle layers: then bolognese and bechamel, grated mozerella and parmesan and another layer of pasta
last layer: leave the pasta out on the top – end with the grated cheese

bake @ 180 for 20 – 30 mins.

to speed up, get done with the bechamel first.
do the pasta rolling while the bolognese is cooking…

 

Leave a Reply

